The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is an award which recognises outstanding new and emerging literary talents across Europe, and highlights the wealth of contemporary European literature. The prize also draws attention to the continent’s unique cultural and linguistic heritage. In 2020, 13 emerging authors from across Europe have been announced as laureates of the 2020 European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL). So far, the EUPL has awarded 122 authors from 41 countries.

Supported by Creative Europe, the initiative is accessible to all countries participating in this EU funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors for the current period 2014-2020.

The European Union Prize for Literature is organised by a consortium comprising the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the European Writers’ Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP).

Mandarin translation of this online exhibition is provided by the European Economic and Trade Office.

WINNING BOOK

© La carte des regrets

La carte des regrets

Suicide, murder, accident? The circumstances of Véronique Verbruggen’s death on a trail in the Cévennes would not have occupied more than a few lines in the press if the victim had not been a well-known publisher. Questioning and sharing the same grief are two men: Daniel Meyer, her ophthalmologist husband, and Titus Séguier, her lover and a filmmaker, forever doomed to wait for Véronique to finally leave her husband. To Daniel, nothing has ever disturbed the 20 years of living together with his wife, whom he loves unfailingly. The lovesick Titus hesitates between remaining silent or addressing a cinematographic love letter to Véronique by finishing the project they started together before she disappeared. Beyond varnished appearances lurks an upsetting portrait of a woman who could not choose. Nathalie Skowronek explores with great subtlety the different facets of love and how, even if times are changing, the drawing and quartering of the heart remains.

© Nathalie Skowronek
AUTHOR

Nathalie Skowronek

Nathalie Skowronek was born in Brussels in 1973. After studying literature, she worked in publishing before going into women’s fashion for 7 years. She returned to literature in 2004, when she created the editorial collection La Plume et le Pinceau for the publishing house Complexe. At the age of 37, she published her first novel, Karen et moi (Arléa, 2011), the first volume of a family trilogy which takes the reader from the Polish shtetls on the road to Auschwitz. Two novels, Max, en apparence (2013) and Un monde sur mesure (2017), followed. In 2015, she published an essay entitled La Shoah de Monsieur Durand (2015), in which she shows that duty of remembrance ceases to operate after 70 years. Since 2016, she has been teaching in the Contemporary Writing Centre of La Cambre/École nationale supérieure des arts visuels. She also facilitates a writing workshop for the Antonin Artaud Club, a day centre for adults with psychological disabilities.

More Info

WINNING BOOK
© POŠTOVANI KUKCI I DRUGE JEZIVE PRIČE Kustantama S&S

POŠTOVANI KUKCI I DRUGE JEZIVE PRIČE

This book tells of the absurdity of existence, connected to ruthless capitalism, with protagonists who try to preserve their dignity while floundering like bugs and sometimes literally ‘cracking up’. There are 12 stories with a range of compelling topics. An old aunt afraid of being buried alive decides to bring her cellphone to the grave, asking her family to call her the day after the funeral. A storyteller reads advertising slogans from IKEA’s catalogue to her dying husband and the former director of a department store. A girl whose mother died of colon cancer opens her mum’s wardrobe to find her ‘spending diary’ about how and what she bought through eBay, frantically spending money in order not to think about her diagnosis. An old father finds himself in the hands of a teleoperator with whom he signed an unfavourable contract, and begins to get huge bills because he can’t handle technology. A child asks her parents to get her exactly the sort of doll she happened to see in a documentary about Chernobyl. All 12 of them are stories in which life and death intertwine alongside laughter, some tears in the eyes and a lump in the throat.

© Maša Kolanović
AUTHOR

Maša Kolanović

Maša Kolanović (born in Zagreb, 1979) works as an associate professor in the Department of Croatian Studies at the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Zagreb. She graduated from the same faculty with a degree in Croatian language and comparative literature and a PhD. So far, she has published a number of articles on literature and popular culture, as well as the following novels: Sloboština Barbie (2008; translated into German as Underground Barbie, 2012) and Poštovani kukci i druge jezive priče (Dear Insects and Other Scary Stories, 2019). She has also published two poetry books, Pijavice za usamljene (Leeches for the Lonely, 2001) and Jamerika (2013), and one monograph, Udarnik! Buntovnik? Potrošač… (Striker! Rebel? Consumer…, 2011), and has also edited Komparativni postsocijalizam: slavenska iskustva (Comparative Post socialism: Slavic Experiences, 2013) and The Cultural Life of Capitalism in Yugoslavia (2017).

More Info

WINNING BOOK

© ΤΗ ΜΈΡΑ ΠΟΥ ΠΆΓΩΣΕ Ο ΠΟΤΑΜΌΣ

Τη μέρα που πάγωσε ο ποταμός (The day the river froze)

Budapest, February 12, 1985. In the bitter cold, the river freezes over and a prophecy that sounds like a croak marks the birth of Janos: ‘bad seed, bad tidings’. Twenty-seven years later, the man who the oracle confirmed as ‘Janos the Hungarian’ is arrested in Athens as the chief suspect in the murder of famous painter Miltos Andrianos.
Could this be another crime typical of the sex intrigues of male prostitution rings? Journalist Stratos Papadopoulos begins to unravel the thread of history, delving into the lives of other people, whose paths sometimes lead to and cross in the margins of Athens’ new reality. Amongst the key figures in this mystery: a 60-year-old widow involved in a love affair with the Hungarian man, his wife, with whom he has a son, the offspring of a powerful political family associated with the painter, a secretive police officer and a shady figure from the underworld.
In Stavros Christodoulou’s novel, no one seems above suspicion, while the truth is hidden, as always, in the details. As the mystery unfolds, the grey waters of the Danube carry away the stories of those whose only desire was to be loved.

© Σταύρος Χριστοδούλου
AUTHOR

Σταύρος Χριστοδούλου
(Stavros Christodoulou)

Stavros Christodoulou was born in 1963 in Nicosia, Cyprus. He studied law in Athens but has never practiced the legal profession since he had already dedicated himself to journalism at the end of the 1980s. He has worked as managing director of various magazines in Greece and Cyprus and currently works for the leading Cypriot newspaper Phileleftheros as a columnist. His first book Hotel National, published by Kalentis Publications in Athens in 2016, was shortlisted for the Cyprus State Literature Prize and for a competition run by the literary magazine Hourglass. His second book, The Day the River Froze, published by Kastaniotis Editions in Athens in 2018, received the Cyprus State Literature Prize.

More Info

WINNING BOOK
© Penge på lommen

Penge på lommen

Money in Your Pocket is the first volume of a novel sequence which has the fire on board the Scandinavian Star ferry as its central theme. The tragedy that took place on 6 April 1990 led to the death of 159 people. It was followed by an official investigation that blamed the fire on a convicted arsonist who died during the incident. If the focal point is an actual event, the characters in the story are fictitious. In this volume, we meet Kurt and Maggie. They live on a farm just outside Nyborg. Kurt’s bus company has yielded a nice profit for several years in a row and he dreams of investing the money in something big. Meanwhile, Maggie tries to understand what love is and why she let it swallow her whole life. We also meet the narrator. She’s somewhere on the Danish island of Funen when she experiences a fright that leads her into the lives of Kurt and Maggie.

© Asta Olivia Nordenhof
AUTHOR

Asta Olivia Nordenhof

Asta Olivia Nordenhof (born 1988) is an award-winning Danish poet and author and a graduate of the Danish Academy of Creative Writing, where she now teaches. Her debut novel Et ansigt til Emily (A Face for Emily, 2011) won the Munch-Christensen Debutant Prize. In 2013, she won, among other awards, the Montana Literary Award for her critically acclaimed poetry collection Det nemme og det ensomme (The Easiness and the Loneliness,2013), which sold over 10 000 copies in Denmark and was translated into English and other languages. Penge på lommen (Money to Burn), published in 2020, is Nordenhof’s most recent work and the first novel in a planned septology entitled Scandinavian Star.

More Info

WINNING BOOK
© POOLA POISID

Poola poised

Polish Boys is a story of young bohemian intellectuals who have settled in old dilapidated buildings and who follow their ideals. The novel is set in socialist Poland, but space and time are irrelevant and can be seen as an allegory. Polish Boys is about the confidence of youth and about aspirations for beauty and truth, how high expectations meet reality, how some people bend and deviate and some don’t. Adam, Sulisław, Teofilis and Jerzy grow up together and become influential figures in Warsaw’s art and literary circles. They set up the radical cultural newspaper Płaszcze and try to transform the society surrounding them. Their radicalism is challenged and not least by the convenient choices offered by the establishment. The same choices are present in their private lives: the unpredictability of free love or the security of a family. Polish Boys is a bildungsroman for the whole generation inspired by the cultural group ZA/UM in Estonia. The author, who was a member of the group, writes from her personal experience with warmth and compassion, which makes the novel’s tone both universal and human.

© Mudlum (Made Luiga)
AUTHOR

Mudlum (Made Luiga)

Mudlum (Made Luiga), born on 31 July 1966, is an Estonian prose writer and a literary reviewer. She studied philosophy at the Estonian Humanitarian Institute and graduated from the Estonian Academy of Arts, which provides higher education in art, design, architecture, media, art history and conservation/restoration. In addition to Polish Boys, she has written two collections of short stories and a novel: Tõsine inimene (A Serious Person, 2014); Ilus Elviira: burleskne jutustus (Beautiful Elviira: A Burlesque Story, 2015); and Linnu silmad (Bird Eyes, 2016). The Estonian Head Read Literary Festival says of Mudlum: ‘Her first short stories published in the media took no time to attract attention; her debut, the collection of stories Tõsine inimene … was nominated for the prose award of the Estonian Cultural Endowment. Mudlum has said that instead of seeing the world as a story, she considers it a journey. This is the peculiarity of her work, her focus on past, almost dream-like musings where mundane moods and details stand out, as well as her preference for states of mind over plotlines. This is how a unique world is created, described by Ilona Martson as a “chaos with a clear composition”’. Mudlum is a well-known literary critic; her reviews and essays have been anthologised as Ümberjutustaja (The Narrator, 2017). She has also contributed to the increasing popularity of Estonian short stories, being one of the four editors of the collection Eesti novell 2018 (Estonian Short Stories). In 2017, she won the leading award for Estonian short stories, the Friedebert Tuglas Award, for her short story Ilma alguse, ilma lõputa (Without a Beginning, Without an End), which was first published in her third book Linnu silmad. In 2020, Polish Boys won Mudlum the annual award of the Estonian Cultural Endowment.

More Info

WINNING BOOK

© Magvető Kiadó

Der traurige GAST

The first-person narrator who roams through contemporary Berlin in The Sad Guest is a flickering, elusive being.
The narrator is a writer, has already published three books and comes from Poland. But this novel is not autobiographical. The main character in the first of the three parts of the novel is Dorota, a Polish architect whom the first-person narrator meets through a newspaper ad. The first-person narrator visits Dorota several times. Her monologues charged with existential philosophy are not always pleasant for her listener, but they do bring him into harmony with the fragility of his own existence. The narrator’s precarious feeling of home and security is shaken by the attack on the Christmas market on Breitscheidplatz. The last significant encounter of the first-person narrator is with Dariusz, a former doctor who was stripped of his licence to practice medicine because of his alcohol problems, and who is struggling through life, while the burden of memories is almost crushing him. Dariusz’s recollections of his arrival in Germany decades earlier illuminate precisely that space of possibility between loss of homeland, euphoria of departure and longing in which all the characters in the novel are located.

© Matthias Nawrat
AUTHOR

Matthias Nawrat

Matthias Nawrat was born in 1979 in Opole, Poland, and moved to Germany with his family at the age of 10. His first novel Wir zwei allein (The Two of Us Alone), published in 2012, was awarded the Literaturpreis of the Kanton of Bern 2012 and the Adelbert-von-ChamissoFörderpreis 2013. For an excerpt from his dystopian novel Unternehmer (Entrepreneurs), Nawrat was awarded the KELAG Prize at the Klagenfurt Days of German-Language Literature in 2012 and the Bayern2-Wortspiele-Preis 2014. In his subsequent novel Die vielen Tode unseres Opa Jurek (The Many Deaths of our Grandpa Jurek), which was awarded the Förderpreis of the Bremer Literaturpreis 2016 and the Alfred-Döblin-Medaille 2016, Nawrat countered the historical horror of his family history with the cheerfulness of a picaresque novel. Nawrat’s new novel, Der traurige Gast (The Sad Guest), was published in 2019 and is a quiet, melancholic book that traces the most diverse biographies in contemporary Berlin. Nawrat has also published essays, short stories and a journal about a journey to Siberia: Nowosibirsk: Tagebuch (2017). He lives in Berlin.

More Info

WINNING BOOK
© Die Mutationen: 7 Geschichten und ein Gedicht

Die Mutationen: 7 Geschichten und ein Gedicht

The Mutations: 7 Stories and a Poem is a collection of seven short stories and one poem written in German, with one story featuring passages written in Luxembourgish. The title giving ‘mutations’ are programmatic in two major regards: thematically, as the stories cast moments and instances of transformation of the characters as central to the plot, and conceptually, as each story is in fact a rewriting of a pre-existing text from European literature. While this intertextual homage lends depth to the stories, it is only ever the starting point for Kirps’ masterful recasting and reimagining of plots and characters. Their hitherto untold stories are skillfully unfolded and turned into powerful narratives that in turn mutate into new, independent stories carried entirely by Kirps’ carefully crafted authorial voice and imaginative power.

© Francis Kirps
AUTHOR

Francis Kirps

Francis Kirps lives and works in Lintgen (Luxembourg). He has a degree in Psychology from the University of Strasbourg. He first started publishing in student magazines in the early 1990s and in the cultural journal Cahiers Luxembourgeois in 1998. Since then, he has published two short story collections (Planet Luxembourg, 2012; Die Mutationen: 7 Geschichten und ein Gedicht (The Mutations: 7 Stories and a Poem), 2019) and one novel (Die Klasse von 77, 2016), and has made numerous contributions to anthologies and contemporary short story collections. He has twice won the second prize in the ‘Concours Littéraire National’, in 2000 and 2001. Since 2003, he has regularly hosted and appeared at public readings and poetry slam sessions in German-speaking countries. He is the co-organiser of public readings in Luxembourg (Lesebühne) and Germany, and co-editor of the German literary magazine EXOT. Since 2014, he has contributed to a satirical column in the German newspaper taz.

More Info

WINNING BOOK
© Canto Jo I La Muntanya Balla

Canto Jo I La Muntanya Balla

Starting with the death of a farmer caused by lightning, the novel tells a set of stories, in which reality and fiction overlap, about the inhabitants of a mountainous area between Camprodon and Prats de Molló, two villages in the Pyrenees. Stories about mythical beings like water women, about war, about the survival of humans and wild animals, about fanaticism… but also about beauty and goodness. A narrative that emulates that of great authors of Catalan literature such as Víctor Català or Mercè Rodoreda, with an evocative and poetic style.

© Irene Solà
AUTHOR

Irene Solà

Irene Solà (born in Malla, near Barcelona, in 1990) has a degree in fine arts from the University of Barcelona and a master’s in literature, film and visual culture from the University of Sussex. Her first book of poems, Bèstia (Galerada, 2012), was awarded the Amadeu Oller Poetry Prize and has been translated into English (as Beast, Shearsman Books, 2017). Her first novel, Els dics (The Dams, 2018), won the Documenta prize and was awarded a grant for literary creation by the Catalan Department of Culture. In 2018, she was a resident writer at the Alan Cheuse International Writers Center of George Mason University (Virginia, United States) and in late 2019 she was selected to participate in the Art Omi: Writers Ledig House programme (New York). In 2019, she was awarded the Premi Llibres Anagrama de Novel•la for-Canto jo i la muntanya balla (I Sing and the Mountain Dances). The same year, she also received the Núvol Prize, and the Cálamo Prize for the Spanish edition of the book.

More Info

歐盟文學獎的設立是為了表揚卓越的歐洲新興文學創作人才,並彰顯當代歐洲文學的浩瀚多元。本獎項也吸引眾人對於這塊大陸獨特文化暨語言學遺產的關注。2020年,有13 位來自歐洲各國的文壇新秀榮獲歐盟文學獎,其中有8位來自歐盟會員國。迄今,歐盟文學獎已頒發給來自41個國家的122位作者。

在歐盟創意歐洲 (Creative Europe) 計畫的支持下,所有參與國家的文創產業皆可於 2014-2020 年期間受益於此計畫。

歐盟文學獎由歐洲和國際書商聯盟 (European and International Booksellers Federation, EIBF)、歐洲作家委員會 (European Writers’ Council, EWC) 和歐洲出版商聯盟 (Federation of European Publishers, FEP) 組成的聯合委員會籌辦。

本線上展覽中文資訊由歐洲經貿辦事處提供。

獲獎作品

© La carte des regrets

La carte des regrets

自殺、他殺,還是意外?若非是一位眾所皆知的出版商,Véronique Verbruggen在賽文尼斯一條小徑上身亡的事情,是不會在媒體上佔據什麼報導版面的。有兩個男人同時為這個悲劇質疑並悼念著:她的眼科醫師丈夫 Daniel Meyer,以及擔任電影製片的愛人Titus Séguier,後者注定將永遠等不到Véronique離開她的丈夫。對於Daniel來說,與他深愛的妻子相守的20年間從未遇過什麼波折干擾。而為情所苦的Titus則無法抉擇是否該保持緘默,還是該完成她殞世前一起共創的電影計畫,以表達對她的愛意。在光鮮亮麗的外表之外,顯露出的是一個無法抉擇的女人的窘迫處境。Nathalie Skowronek極其細微地探索愛的不同面向,即便時光更迭,心中的悸動與撕裂依舊。

© Nathalie Skowronek
作者

Nathalie Skowronek

Nathalie Skowronek,1973年出生於布魯塞爾。在攻讀文學後,她先任職於出版業,而後進入女性時尚產業長達7年。2004年,她回歸文學領域,並為Complexe出版社創建了《La Plume et le Pinceau》社論選集。她37歲時發行第一本小說《Karen et moi》(Arléa, 2011)。這本家庭三部曲中的第一冊小說,帶領讀者從波蘭的猶太小鎮一直到奧斯威辛集中營。隨後於2013與2017出版第二與三部曲《Max, en apparence》和《Un monde sur mesure》。2015年,她發行了名為《La Shoah de Monsieur Durand》的小品,訴說紀念義務在70年後即應停止。她自2016年起任教於坎布爾國立視覺藝術高等學院的當代寫作中心。她同時在安東尼亞陶俱樂部,一個專為身心障礙成人設置的日間照顧中心,開設寫作工作坊。

更多資訊

獲獎作品

© Poštovani Kukci i Druge Jezive Priče

Poštovani Kukci i Druge Jezive Priče

這本書運用那些試圖維護自己尊嚴,同時像蟲一般掙扎的主角,來描繪和殘酷資本主義相關的荒謬現實。這本書中有12個引人入勝的小故事。一位害怕被活埋的老嫗,決定帶她的手機陪葬,並要求她的家屬在葬禮隔一天打電話給她。一位說書人對著她即將死去的丈夫以及一位百貨公司的卸任主管,複誦著IKEA型錄上的廣告標語。一位媽媽因罹患大腸癌過世的女生,打開她母親的衣櫃並發現了母親的eBay的購物日誌,其中記錄了她為逃避面對自己的診斷結果而如何瘋狂的花錢購物。一位年邁的父親,發現自己被一位電信員玩弄於鼓掌而簽訂了一份不利契約,且由於不熟悉科技的緣故,而背負鉅額帳單。一位兒童要求她的父母買給她那隻她碰巧在車諾比紀錄片中看到的娃娃。在生與死之間,伴隨著笑聲、淚水與哽咽,互相交織於這12個故事中。

© Maša Kolanović
作者

Maša Kolanović

Maša Kolanović,1979年出生於克羅埃西亞首都薩格勒布,是薩格勒布大學人類與社會科學院克羅埃西亞語系的副教授。她畢業於該學院,並獲得克羅埃西亞語暨比較文學博士學位。迄今,她已發行許多文學與大眾藝術文章,以及小說:《Sloboština Barbie》(地下芭比,2008;於2012年被譯成德文版),以及《Poštovani kukci i druge jezive price》(親愛的昆蟲與其他恐怖故事,2019)。她也發行了《Pijavice za usamljene》(寂寞的水蛭,2011)與《Jamerika》(亞美利加,2013)兩本詩書,以及《Udarnik! Buntovnik? Potrošač…》(罷工者!反抗者?消費者…,2011)專著,並編輯《Komparativni postsocijalizam: slavenska iskustva》(比較後現代社會主義:斯拉夫經驗,2013)和《The Cultural Life of Capitalism in Yugoslavia》(南斯拉夫資本主義的文化生活,2017)。

更多資訊

獲獎作品

© ΤΗ ΜΈΡΑ ΠΟΥ ΠΆΓΩΣΕ Ο ΠΟΤΑΜΌΣ

Τη μέρα που πάγωσε ο ποταμός (The day the river froze)

布達佩斯,1985年二月12日。在酷寒中,河流凍結了,一個作響的預言標示著Janos的出生:「壞種子,壞消息」。27年後,那位被預言為「來自匈牙利的Janos」的男子,因被列為謀殺知名畫家Miltos Andrianos的頭號嫌疑犯,於雅典被捕。
這會是又一起因男性買淫而引起的典型性犯罪嗎?記者Stratos Papadopoulos開始從過去歷史中抽絲剝繭,並深入那些穿插或走入雅典新現實下的人物生活。籠罩在這個謎團下的主要角色包含與這位匈牙利男子有染的一位60歲寡婦、與該男遇有一兒的妻子、與畫家有牽連的一位政治家族後代、秘密警察,以及一位來自下流社會的陰暗人物。
在Stavros Christodoulou的小說中,雖然事實如同往常一般被隱藏在細節中,似乎沒有人看起來是可疑的。隨著迷團揭開,多瑙河灰濁的水流帶走的是那些最終只渴求被愛的人的故事。

© Σταύρος Χριστοδούλου
作者

Σταύρος Χριστοδούλου
(Stavros Christodoulou)

Stavros Christodoulou,1963年出生於賽普勒斯尼科西亞。自1980年代末,他即致力於媒體事務,因此,雖然在雅典攻讀法律,他卻沒有從事過任何法律專業。他曾在希臘與賽普勒斯擔任過許多雜誌社的執行主任,現在則擔任賽普勒斯主流報社Phileleftheros的專欄作家。他的第一本書《Hotel National》由希臘出版商Kalentis於2016年發行,該書入選賽普勒斯國家文學獎以及由文學雜誌Hourglass所舉辦的一個比賽。他的第二本的書《The Day the River Froze》(河流結凍的那天),由雅典出版商Kastaniotis Editions於2018年發行並榮獲賽普勒斯國家文學獎。

更多資訊

獲獎作品
© Penge på lommen

Penge på lommen

《Penge på lommen》(口袋裡的金錢)是以發生在斯堪地那維亞之星郵輪上大火作為中心主題的小說集的第一冊。這場發生在1990年四月6日的悲劇導致了159人喪生。官方調查隨後將這場大火歸責於一位死於這場意外的縱火犯。如果這是一齣真實事件,那麼故事中人物則是虛構的。在這本冊集中,我們遇到了Kurt和Maggie,他們居住在尼堡外圍的農場。Kurt的巴士公司多年來都有良好的利潤,他也夢想著將這筆錢投資在什麼偉大的計畫上。與此同時,Maggie試圖去理解什麼是愛,以及為什麼她會讓愛吞蝕了她的整個人生。我們也會遇見故事的旁白,當她遭遇到那個帶她進入Kurt和Maggie生活的嚇人際遇時,她正位於丹麥的菲因島上。

© Asta Olivia Nordenhof
作者

Asta Olivia Nordenhof

Asta Olivia Nordenhof,出生於1988年,是一位屢獲殊榮的丹麥詩人與作家。她畢業於丹麥創意寫作學院,目前亦任教於該學院。她的首部小說《Et ansigt til Emily》(艾蜜莉的臉龐,2011)獲得了Munch-Christensen 新人獎。2013年,她的《Det nemme og det ensomme》(簡單與孤獨,2013)詩集也獲得眾多獎項,其中包含Montana文學獎。這本詩集在丹麥銷售超過10,000本,同時被翻譯成英文與其他語言。Nordenhof最新的作品是2020年發行,第一本以斯堪地那維亞之星命名的音韻學小說《Penge på lommen》(口袋裡的金錢)。

更多資訊

獲獎作品
© POOLA POISID

Poola poised

《波蘭男孩》是一本關於一群年輕波西米亞知識份子居住在老舊建築中追隨他們理念的故事。小說的場景設定在社會主義下的波蘭,然而時空在此並不重要,且可被視為寓言般的存在。《波蘭男孩》描寫了青年人的自信以及對美與真理的嚮往,刻劃崇高理想與現實的交匯,並訴說為何有些人會偏離航道,而有些則可堅守方向。Adam、 Sulisław、Teofilis 以及 Jerzy一同長大,並成為華沙藝術與文學圈中具有影響力的人物。他們創立了激進的文化報紙Płaszcze,以試圖轉化他們身處的這個社會。他們的激進理念受到來自建制派便宜選擇的挑戰。他們的私生活也遭遇到相同的選擇困境:自由戀愛的不確定性,以及對家庭的安全感。《波蘭男孩》是一部受到愛沙尼亞ZA/UM文化社團所啟發的成長小說。身為該社團中一員,作者從個人的經驗出發並以溫暖又熱情的筆吻書寫,使得這本小說的語氣既普世又人性。

© Mudlum (Made Luiga)
作者

Mudlum (Made Luiga)

Mudlum(本名 Made Luiga)出生於1966年七月31日,是一位愛沙尼亞的散文作家與文學評論家。她於愛沙尼亞人文研究所攻讀哲學,並畢業於愛沙尼亞藝術學院;該學院提供藝術、設計、建築、新聞、藝術史及藝術品保存與修復。除了《波蘭男孩》,她撰寫了兩本短篇故事選集和一本小說:《Tõsine inimene》(一位嚴肅的人,2014)、《Ilus Elviira: burleskne jutustu》(美麗的埃爾維拉:一個滑稽諷刺故事,2015),以及《Linnu silmad》(鳥之眼,2016)。愛沙尼亞HeadRead文學節是這麼評論Mudlum的:「她在媒體上發表的首部故事集,在第一時間即受到注目。她的首作《Tõsine inimene》故事集[…]獲得愛沙尼亞文化基金會散文獎提名。Mudlum曾經說過,她看這個世界是一段旅程而非一個故事。她專注於過去,在如夢的謬思中凸顯出平淡的情緒與細節,以及對於心境而非情節的偏好,這就是她作品特殊之處。如同Ilona Martson描述為『在混亂中帶有清楚的結構』,這就是創造一個獨特世界的方式。」Mudlum是一位著名的文學評論家,她的評論與文章被彙編為《Ümberjutustaja》(敘事者,2017)。作為2018《Eesti novell》(愛沙尼亞短篇故事)選集的四位編輯之一,她也提升了愛沙尼亞短篇故事的知名度。2017年,她的短篇故事《Ilma alguse, ilma lõputa》》(無始也無終)榮獲愛沙尼亞短篇故事獎Friedebert Tuglas獎;該文首次收錄於她的第三本書《Linnu silmad》中。2020年,Mudlum的《波蘭男孩》獲得了愛沙尼亞文化基金會的年度獎項。

更多資訊

獲獎作品

© Magvető Kiadó

Der traurige GAST

在《悲傷的客人》中,漫步於當代柏林的第一人稱旁白,是一個飄忽不定、難以捉摸的人物。
這位旁白是一個發表過三本書籍、來自波蘭的作家,但是這本小說並非作者自傳。本書分為三個段落,第一個段落的主要角色是Dorota,一位來自波蘭的建築師。這位第一人稱旁白透過報紙廣告認識Dorota,並且也多次造訪她。她那充滿存在哲學的獨白並不總是動聽,但確實能調和旁白對自身存在的脆弱感。旁白本身對家園與安全的不確定感,在布萊茲雪德廣場聖誕市集攻擊事件後被衝擊動搖。旁白最後遇見的人物是Dariusz,一位因酗酒問題而被吊銷執照的醫生,在與生活掙扎的同時因過往回憶重擔而幾乎被摧毀。透過Dariusz數十年前抵達德國的回憶,描繪出在失去家園、啟程的興奮,與嚮往之間充滿可能性的空間,同時也是書中所有角色所共存的空間。

© Matthias Nawrat
作者

Matthias Nawrat

Matthias Nawrat,1979年出生於波蘭奧波萊,並於10歲時隨家人遷居德國。他在2012年發行的首部小說《Wir zwei allein》(只有我倆),於同年獲得了伯恩文學獎,也於2013年獲得阿德貝爾特.封.夏米索獎。Nawrat的反烏托邦小說《Unternehmer》(創業家)節選,於2012年被克拉根福得語文學日 (Klagenfurt Days of German-Language Literature) 評選為KELAG 獎,也於2014年獲選拜仁文字遊戲獎 (Bayern2-Wortspiele-Preis)。Nawrat隨後在2016年發表小說《Die vielen Tode unseres Opa Jurek》(我們祖父尤雷克的數個死亡),以歡愉的浪人小說體裁訴說其家族遭遇的駭人歷史。該書於同年獲得布萊梅文學獎 (Förderpreis of the Bremer Literaturpreis) 與德布林獎章 (Alfred-Döblin-Medaille)。Nawrat 2019年發行的新小說《Der traurige Gast》(哀傷的客人),是一部既安靜又憂鬱且描繪了當代柏林最多元樣貌的書。Nawrat也發表了許多小品、短篇故事,以及一篇記錄西伯利亞的旅程日誌《Nowosibirsk: Tagebuch》(2017)。他現居柏林。

更多資訊

獲獎作品
© Die Mutationen: 7 Geschichten und ein Gedicht

Die Mutationen: 7 Geschichten und ein Gedicht

《The Mutations: 7 Stories and a Poem》是一本以德文撰寫的七則短篇故事與一首詩作的合集,其中一則故事有片段穿插盧森堡語。本書以「突變」為題,在兩個面向上是有程序性的:以主題而言,故事以主角轉變的情節作為中心;而從概念上而言,每一個故事實際上都是從既有的歐洲文學著作進行改寫。這個多層次的敬意了提供了故事的深度,這卻僅是Kirps大師般重新想像情節與角色的起點而已。那些迄今為止難以言喻的故事,都在得到Kirps謹慎且權威的聲音與想像力後,技巧性的展開並轉化為許多有力的論述,隨後更變異為數個新的、各自獨立的故事。

© Francis Kirps
作者

Francis Kirps

Francis Kirps在盧森堡林特根居住與工作。他擁有史特拉斯堡大學心理學學位。他最早自1990年代開始於學生雜誌發表文章,而後於1998年為文化雜誌《Cahiers Luxembourgeois》撰寫文章。自那時起,他已發表了兩個短篇故事集《Planet Luxembourg》(盧森堡星球,2012)、《Die Mutationen: 7 Geschichten und ein Gedicht》(突變:7則故事與一篇詩作,2019),以及一本小說《Die Klasse von 77》(77級,2016),並供稿給許多選集與現代短篇故事集。他於2000和2001年兩次獲得國家文學獎 (Concours Littéraire National) 貳獎。自2003年起,他開始規律出席並主持德語區國家的公眾閱讀與詩詞競賽活動。他是盧森堡公眾閱讀節的合辦人,也是德語文學雜誌EXOT的共同編輯。自2014年起,他為德國taz報社的諷刺專欄撰稿。

更多資訊

獲獎作品
© Canto Jo I La Muntanya Balla

Canto Jo I La Muntanya Balla

以一位被閃電擊中而喪生的農夫作為開頭,本小說以現實與虛幻交雜的手法,訴說一系列關於居住在庇里牛斯山間,Camprodon和Prats de Molló兩個小鎮居民的故事。這些故事包含神話般的人物如水女人,包含戰爭、人類與野生動物的生存、狂熱主義,同時也訴說著美與善。本書的敘事手法仿效Víctor Català或Mercè Rodoreda等加泰隆尼亞大作家,令人玩味又具詩意。

© Irene Solà
作者

Irene Solà

Irene Solà,1990年出生於巴賽隆納近郊的Malla,擁有巴賽隆納大學藝術學位,與薩塞克斯大學文學、電影暨視覺文化碩士學位。她的第一本詩集《Bèstia》(Galerada, 2012) 獲得了Amadeu Oller 詩獎,並隨後被翻譯成英文《Beast》(Shearsman Books, 2017)。她的第一本小說《Els dics》(大壩,2018)獲得了Documenta獎以及加泰隆尼亞文化局的文學創作獎金。2018年,她在美國維吉尼亞州喬治梅森大學得Alan Cheuse國際寫作中心擔任常駐作家。2019年末,她獲選參加紐約歐密國際藝術中心駐村作家計畫 (Art Omi: Writers Ledig House programme)。她於2019年以《Canto jo i la muntanya balla》(我唱歌時山就跳舞)一書獲頒專給加泰隆尼亞文著作的Anagrama書獎 (Premi Llibres Anagrama de Novel•la)。同一年,該書的西語版也獲頒Núvol獎與Cálamo 獎。

更多資訊